FET Day 1

Day 1… Here we go again! Our FET cycle is finally here and I feel both excited and terrified.

Excited to possibly be pregnant again because, for the most part, I loved being pregnant. Excited at the prospect of a singleton pregnancy that would, fingers crossed, go full term. Excited at having a less traumatic birth with immediate bonding. And of course, I am excited about bringing another combination of hubby and I into our family, seeing our girls as big sisters and getting all of those newborn snuggles and special moments again. Did I mention planning a nursery??? Fun!

But unlike our other FET cycles there are more fears this time. Fear that it won’t work and we won’t go through another retrieval cycle, so this is pretty much it unless some miraculous pregnancy occurs- which is hard to do on BCP. The finality terrifies me. I desperately want to savor my last pregnancy, and those early days with just one baby. I always wanted the twins to grow a little bit faster that first year just so that it would get a bit easier. On the flip side, there is nervousness about being pregnant with two toddlers. I am hoping my first trimester would be similar to my las pregnancy and have no morning sickness, but we might all be napping together in Mommy’s bed on a daily basis. How will I explain to them to be gentle? They stand on , crawl over and occasionally kick or body slam my belly now—that will be a no go. I also have the typical, maybe it won’t thaw fear, the what if the baby isn’t healthy fear and the can I handle 3 under 3 fear.

Despite my fears, I pray that it will work. I hope that the transfer goes smoothly and that my body receives little frosty and allows him/her to grow into our third living blessing.

To prepare for this FET and give myself every advantage, I started acupuncture again this past Monday. Whether it helped conceive the twins or not, I will never know. What I do know is that their cycle was the first that I used acupuncture and, well, we have twins! So we shall try that again. I will go the next 3 Mondays until transfer.

I called in my Day One today and got our schedule…Monitoring appointment and Bloodwork on April 11th and our Transfer will be on April 17…My 33rd birthday. Childcare is all set already thanks to my Stepmom and my first patch has been applied. We also managed to find a less expensive progesterone in oil through a different pharmacy. This nationwide shortage is ridiculous. Those fun little shots will start after my appointment on the 11th.

Princess treatment has also started! Oh how I have missed Hubby’s extra efforts to make sure I am relaxed, stress free and happy. Foot rubs, swapping meals if I think his looks better, ice cream, that kind of thing. Think I may get out of a few diaper changes too!

The only thing I am not digging about day one is that I feel like it is a huge deal! One that should be celebrated with dinner out, a sundae, an in depth look at our FET schedule but this isn’t our first rodeo and life just keeps on chugging along. I’m not sure how to describe it any better than that… All of the build up to today…to calling in my cycle start and applying my first patch and it came and went, no big deal. Hopefully my busy April will make the 17th get here a bit faster! It will sure be a special birthday!

One thought on “FET Day 1

  1. Good luck to you and your frosty!!!

    Like

Leave a comment