Snowstorms and healthy choices

We are dwelling in the calm before the storm. Another snowstorm, maybe the biggest of the year is supposed to be moving in on the Northeast tomorrow morning. Anybody else over this winter? Maybe it’s just me but winter was so much more enjoyable when I was a kid… Now it means all kind of adulating rather than just enjoying a snow day and building a snowman. Shoveling, stocking up on milk for the girls, food for a few days, and fixing the flat tire on the truck so that Hubby can get to and from work safely. Laundry is being done (thanks hubs)  and we have wood for the woodstove should we lose power. All of our grown up ducks are in a row. But ugh, I really don’t want 12-18 inches of wet, heavy snow tomorrow. I don’t want to be stuck in the house. Hopefully this will be the last bit of winter weather this year!

With our FET only one cycle away I am making moves to ensure that I am as healthy as I can be to give our Frosty the best shot at sticking around. I finally scheduled my first acupuncture appointment for the week of my day 1. I figure if I can go once a week for a few weeks that will give me a good boost. I’m sure the acupuncturist will tell me I should have come sooner but with the girls I can’t find childcare for once a week. None of our parents are retired and I can only ask them to take a half day so many times. So that will have to do.

I’m also going to do a mini Whole 30ish round between now and my pregnancy test. Dropping carbs and most sugars. We did a Whole 30 round in January and I felt so much better without so much crap in my system.  If this is my last shot at another baby I am going to do everything I can to up my odds.

Apparently there is a nationwide shortage of Progesterone in oil. Figures. The alternative is 120 per vial and I need 3 vials to get to my Beta test. Worst case is that we have to pay that and my working will cover it. I opted to have them ship my patches and hold off on the progesterone for a few weeks hoping that it comes back in stock. The pharmacist says they have been told 4-6 weeks. Let’s hope it’s 4.

Hubby has been saying this FET will work for months now. He is 100% convinced that we are going to have a baby boy. His optimism is contagious. I have the nursery planned out, all sorts of cute boy outfits and accessories pinned on a secret board and a name picked out. While I like having such a positive attitude going into it, I worry about how I will feel should it not work. Despite having 2 beautiful daughters, I will be crushed if Frosty doesn’t take. Let’s face it, we went through 3 transfers to get the girls. This embryo is our lowest quality. What if we go through everything and it doesn’t thaw? That would be brutal. What if it’s a chemical again? Those are just all kinds of not fair. Or what if I miscarry later? Knowing this is our last attempt makes me feel more pressure. It’s so final should it not work. I don’t feel done having babies. Hubby is good with the two girls. It might take a lot of convincing to take further steps. I don’t want to go through another retrieval and end up with multiple embryos, I don’t think I just want to freeze my eggs because insurance doesn’t cover it and we just can’t swing that financial burden on one income. The only other option is going back to medicated cycles and timed intercourse. It’s an option.  I guess we will take this one step at a time and the next step is hunkering down and getting through this snow storm and keeping two toddlers (who have learned to say no) happy while maintaining my sanity! Wish me luck!

 

Leave a comment